We thank followers from US, Australia, UK, India, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Japan, Vietnam, Italy. Thank you for your kind contributions and to help spread good teachings of Ajarn Patana.

Charity Based - By Respectable Ajarn Patana

If This Doesn't Change Your Destiny, Nothing Else Will.

The 5 Precepts of Buddhist Ethics

Unlike other viewpoints and beliefs, in Buddhism, there are no outright mandates or insurmountable rules. Buddhist ethics synthesizes these guides. As the name recommends, they aren’t standards however precepts. That distinction is essential.

The difference in between a commandment and precept is that the very first is required, while the 2nd isn’t (rather, it’s recommended). Precepts are more of a guide, a suggestion, or a standard. The 5 precepts of Buddhist ethics do not look for to impose a certain behavior, however rather to trace some lines around what’s considered finest for the private and society.

It is very important to note that the five precepts of Buddhist principles are based on requirements that comprise the center of this approach: compassion. This implies that, when faced with any doubt or contradiction, it recommends to always pick the more caring habits. In other words, there’s a specific versatility in the analysis of these precepts, which we describe listed below.

“Conquer the upset one by not getting angry; conquer the wicked by goodness; dominate the stingy by kindness, and the liar by speaking the reality.”


1. Don’t take any life

Each precept is selective. Each person accepts it voluntarily if they’re in agreement. The first is to abstain from taking the life of another sentient being (people or animals). “With actions of love and generosity, I cleanse my body”.

To accept this precept, which is the most important, you should first understand that all living things are frightened of penalty. For all of life is valuable and all sentient beings are equivalent. It’s just appropriate to take a life to safeguard your own.

A bird landing on someone's hand.A bird landing on someone's hand.

2. You will not take what hasn’t been offered This is another of the 5 precepts of Buddhist ethics that accompanies commandments or norms in other belief systems and

religious beliefs. It generally suggests to avoid robbing and is influenced by the conviction that kindness cleanses while greed corrupts. For Buddhism, what enhances is offering, not taking. Denying others of their home is a kind of violence since those homes form part of their identity. When you cultivate generosity, you dilute greed.

3. You will not participate in damaging sexual behavior

In Buddhism, there’s no affirmation that provides or pollutes sensations of regret about sexuality. There’s also no discrimination based on sexual orientation. It accepts heterosexuality, homosexuality, onanism, transvestism, and celibacy. It also accepts monogamy, polygamy, and polyandry.

Damaging sexual conduct in Buddhism is any practice that hurts someone or if excessive significance is offered to sex. By this line of thinking, living well doesn’t depend upon the fulfillment of desires but the voluntary elimination of them.

Two people holding hands in a field of flowers.Two people holding hands in a field of flowers.

4. You won’t lie, one of the 5 precepts of Buddhist ethics More than not lying, this precept of Buddhist principles consists of providing spiritual worth to your word. Buddhists think that the truth is a source of trust which

it’s definitely essential for social cohesion. That’s why they reject lies. They reveal that a lie is an act of violence against others given that it condemns them to dream and not truth. This keeps them from acting in a conscious way. In the very same method, whoever lies does so to themselves, given that it winds up enslaving you to your own fraud. To sustain a lie, you have to say so far more.

5. You will not ingest toxic compounds that can blur your mind

Buddhists support a clear and peaceful conscience. They think that the intake of poisonous substances drives you to the “fog of trickery”. That’s why they encourage the practice of meditation as a vital medium for reaching the joy that originates from liberty.

They reject not just the use of alcohol and drugs but also coming into contact with scenarios that can disturb the mind or confuse reason. This consists of enormous and insatiable occasions, TV, and compulsive shopping, among others.

The five precepts of Buddhist principles do not exist for the function of repressing, but the specific reverse: to free. In Buddhism, it’s really important to break the tethers and let consciousness broaden to its maximum form. Due to the fact that of this, all of these concepts seek to promote individual wellness instead of merely sending to moral authority.

The Ten Spiritual Realms of Zen BuddhismThe Ten Spiritual Realms of Zen Buddhism The 10 Spiritual Realms of Zen Buddhism There are ten spiritual worlds of Buddhism. 4 of them are thought about to be higher and more progressed states, while the other six are underdeveloped. Find out more”


Don’t Stop Here

More To Explore

Ajarn Patana

Promoting World Peace and Powerful Blessings

Receive Daily and Monthly Full Moon Candle Lighting And Prayers.

Please enter your name and birthdate in the form below, we will print it out and place for prayers. You may also send us your recent photo if you wish. You will also receive updates and teachings via email if you sign up.