We thank followers from US, Australia, UK, India, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Japan, Vietnam, Italy. Thank you for your kind contributions and to help spread good teachings of Ajarn Patana.

Charity Based - By Respectable Ajarn Patana

If This Doesn't Change Your Destiny, Nothing Else Will.

Fundamental Dharma Teachings

In your research study of the dharma, you will experience various lists, which the Buddha developed to make his teachings accessible and memorable. The lists I’ve consisted of here are a few of the basic ones, which are essential to your understanding of the dharma. To fully comprehend them, I suggest that you attend meditation classes, daylong workshops, and silent retreats; join a dharma study hall; and check out a few of the books advised in the reading list on this site. May your research study and practice of the dharma bring you enjoy, joy, wonder, and wisdom in this life, just as it is.– Phillip Moffitt

The Triple Gem

  • Buddha – the historical Buddha and one’s own capacity for awakening
  • Dharma – the mentors of the Buddha; the truth of the method things are
  • Sangha – the neighborhood; in Asia this describes the monastic community, in the West this includes ordinary specialists

These are likewise referred to as The Three Havens:
“I take haven in: the Buddha, the Dharma, the Sangha”

The Four Noble Truths

  1. There is suffering
  2. The origin of suffering is craving
  3. There is an end to suffering
  4. The method to the end of suffering is the Noble Eightfold Path

The Noble Eighfold Path

    Wisdom (panna) Aspects:

  1. Right Understanding (or view)
  2. Right Idea (or intention)

    Ethical Conduct (or sila) Factors:

  3. Right Speech
  4. Right Action
  5. Right Livelihood

    Concentration (or samadhi) Factors:

  6. Right Effort
  7. Right Mindfulness
  8. Right Concentration

The Four Foundations of Mindfulness

  1. Mindfulness of the body in the body (consists of the breath and the four components: earth, fire, water, air)
  2. Mindfulness of feeling tones in sensation tones (whether something is pleasant, unpleasant, or neutral)
  3. Mindfulness of the mind in the mind
  4. Mindfulness of things of the mind

The 3 Marks of Existence

  1. Impermanence (anicca)
  2. Suffering (dukkha)
  3. No Self (anatta)

The Four Brahma-Viharas (Divine Houses)

  1. Loving-kindness (metta)
  2. Compassion (karuna)
  3. Compassionate Happiness (mudita)
  4. Equanimity (upekkha)

The Five Precepts

  1. To refrain from taking life
  2. To refrain from taking that which is not freely given
  3. To avoid sexual misconduct
  4. To avoid unwise/unskillful speech
  5. To refrain from intoxication

The 5 Obstacles

  1. Sensuous Desire (kammachanda)
  2. Anger or ill will (byapada vyapada)
  3. Sloth and Torpor (thina-middha)
  4. Restlessness (uddhacca=kukkucca)
  5. Doubt (vicikiccha)

The 7 Aspects of Enlightenment

  1. Mindfulness (sati)
  2. Investigation of the dharma (dhammavicaya)
  3. Energy (viriya)
  4. Rapture (piti)
  5. Tranquility (passaddhi)
  6. Concentration (samadhi)
  7. Equanimity (upekkha)


Don’t Stop Here

More To Explore

Ajarn Patana

Promoting World Peace and Powerful Blessings

Receive Daily and Monthly Full Moon Candle Lighting And Prayers.

Please enter your name and birthdate in the form below, we will print it out and place for prayers. You may also send us your recent photo if you wish. You will also receive updates and teachings via email if you sign up.