We thank followers from US, Australia, UK, India, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Japan, Vietnam, Italy. Thank you for your kind contributions and to help spread good teachings of Ajarn Patana.

Charity Based - By Respectable Ajarn Patana

If This Doesn't Change Your Destiny, Nothing Else Will.

Define Love in Buddhism

Buddhism sees love at it’s core. Loving compassion is among the most essential teachings of Buddhism. Buddhism teaches love is very important in order to achieve Nirvana. However in order to understand the type of Love that Buddhism teaches

we must initially differentiate Love vs. Attachment

. Love VS. Attachment< img src= "https://teachingsofthebuddha.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/dog-1579614_640-300x225.jpg 300w, https://teachingsofthebuddha.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/dog-1579614_640-150x113.jpg 150w, https://teachingsofthebuddha.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/dog-1579614_640.jpg 640w"alt=" "width ="300 "height="225"/ > What is love and what is accessory. In the daily sense many people error love as hanging on to someone and sticking on to a feeling. However it is not. In Buddhism, we are taught to seek out freedom. Freedom is the ultimate goal of Buddhism. Freedom from suffering is Enlightenment; it is Nirvana.

But lot of times, individuals misconstrue love. They think that hanging on is love. They think that fighting for love is love. But these kinds of love are not the sort of love that Buddhism teaches.

There are 4 types of Love that Buddhism teaches:

1. Loving Generosity

This love is not the self-centered love. It is the love that releases oneself from declaring. It is the sort of love that cares and supports. Caring compassion is also respecting others. It is not simply respecting the person we believe we enjoy however respecting all.

2. Compassion

Love entails compassion. Empathy is needed in order to actually enjoy. However this empathy is not simply empathy for others, but likewise empathy for oneself. We require to discover to be compassionate to ourselves to fully show others love. This suggests caring for our requirements, not in a self-centered way but in a self nurturing method.

Compassion is also assisting those who need our assistance. It is when we choose people up instead of putting them down. It is when you forget blame however rather show generosity and mercy.

3. Appreciative Delight

Pleased joy means valuing each and every 2nd provided to us. We appreciate our time here in this airplane of presence. We also appreciate people around us. We likewise appreciate those who harm us, since they teach us patience.

Appreciative happiness is the overall reverse of attachment. This is the kind of happiness we draw from the small wonders given to us but not declaring them us our own. It indicates that when a cherished passes away, we do not blow up or we do not feel loss because we know that we had actually invested a fantastic time with them.

It is also comprehending that there is nothing permanent in life which everything is fleeting. And due to the fact that whatever fades away, we do not anticipate anything to be with us permanently.

4. Equanamity

Equanamity is the state of mental calmness. It is the feeling of a still pond that reflects the sky on it’s surface. Equanamity enables an individual to find grace and composure even in the minutes of excellent distress. It means not being outraged by others around us. It means attempting to comprehend what causes others to be despiteful and upset and not reciprocating that anger.

So as you see, in Buddhism, Love is Freedom. Love is not selfish or self-seeking, it is something that liberates. So you see, enjoy is NEVER ABOUT ACCESSORY.

What is Accessory?

Many individuals think that accessory is just selfishness but it is not. Accessory is hanging on to something which is unnatural to us. Remember that anything that is not intrinsic to us causes us suffering and hence, accessory triggers suffering.

Accessory comes in numerous types. At lot of times individuals misunderstand accessory for love. They tend to become jealous, mad and upset. They also tend to fear being alone. They fear death. Attachment triggers DUKKHA or suffering.

1. Selfishness

Selfishness might not be obvious in many relationships. We tend to want the person to be only ours. We get envious and angry. We try to make them stay. We want their time and attention. This triggers suffering on both celebrations.

Selfishness needs people we “love” to act particular ways around us, while loving generosity allows them to just be.

2. Fear

Fear is another type of attachment. We end up being afraid of losing people. We end up being scared of death. We become afraid of being harmed. Worry triggers lots of disputes and hate since we are afraid. When we discover empathy, we forget worry. Empathy teaches us to be kind to ourselves and not hang on to fear. We likewise let go of fear when we have equanamity.

3. Discomfort– The truest forms of love does not cause pain, but causes pleasure and bliss. Even if death comes, we do not feel discomfort because we are glad that we had the experience of having that individual join us even for a brief time. Accessory causes discomfort because when we tightly hold on to something, we lose our flexibility. And lack of freedom triggers us to battle.

4. Anger

Love is never ever mad. Love is pure and considerate. It is never demanding or painful. When we like, we accept and we forgive. However a lot of times, accessory causes us to be upset. We expect individuals that we like to act a specific way towards us. When they fail to achieve this expectation, we get harmed and ended up being resentful and ANGRY.

True Love Shines

True love resembles a light in a dark tunnel that blazes a trail. It is a way to achieve Nirvana and freedom. A lot of times we think that love is simply for those we like and those near us. However that is not love. Love is universal. Love is providing respect to all life. Love is provides bliss, not just in pleased times but also in those minutes of trials and adversities.

True love is strength. Real love is never ever self-centered, it is giving and kind.


Don’t Stop Here

More To Explore

Ajarn Patana

Promoting World Peace and Powerful Blessings

Receive Daily and Monthly Full Moon Candle Lighting And Prayers.

Please enter your name and birthdate in the form below, we will print it out and place for prayers. You may also send us your recent photo if you wish. You will also receive updates and teachings via email if you sign up.