We thank followers from US, Australia, UK, India, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Japan, Vietnam, Italy. Thank you for your kind contributions and to help spread good teachings of Ajarn Patana.

Charity Based - By Respectable Ajarn Patana

If This Doesn't Change Your Destiny, Nothing Else Will.

Buddhist Teachings and Practice Paths

Buddhist Teachings & Practice Paths

The Triple Gem 1. The Buddha– The self awakened one. The initial nature of the Heart; 2. The Dhamma– The Mentor. The nature of truth; 3. The Sangha– a. The Awakened Neighborhood. b. Any harmonious assembly. c. All Beings.

The 4 Noble Truths

1. The Noble Fact of Dukkha – tension, unsatisfactoriness, suffering;
2. The Noble Truth of the causal arising of Dukkha, which is comprehending, clinging and desiring;
3. The Noble Reality of Nirvana, The ending of Dukkha. Awakening, Knowledge. “Mind like fire unbound”;
4. The Noble Reality of the Course leading to Nirvana or Awakening.

All Buddhist teachings circulation from the 4 Noble Truths. Particularly stressed in the Theravada.

The Four Bodhisattva Vows

1. I vow to rescue the boundless living beings from suffering; (Link to 1st Fact)
2. I vow to put an end to the limitless afflictions of living beings; (Link to 2nd Fact)
3. I vow to find out the measureless Dharma-doors; (Link to 4th Truth)
4. I vow to understand the unmatched path of the Buddha. (Link to 3th Fact)

Structure of the Mahayana Course, these swears state. ‘Whatever the greatest perfection of the human heart-mind might I understand it for the advantage of all that lives!’

The Eight Fold-Path

Right, Essential, Complete, Perfected.

1. Right View, Understanding;
2. Right Mindset, Idea or Feeling;
3. Right Speech;
4. Right Action;
5. Right income;
6. Right Effort, Energy, and Vitality;
7. Right Mindfulness or Awareness;
8. Right Samadhi “concentration”, one-pointedness. Integration of, or facility in, various levels of awareness.

Alternate meanings are given as the initial Pali has shades of implying not readily available in one English word.

The Five Precepts

I carry out to:

1. Abstain from eliminating living beings;
2. Abstain from taking that which not given;
3. Abstain from sexual misbehavior;
4. Abstain from false speech;
5. Avoid distilled compounds that puzzle the mind. (Alcohol and Drugs)

The underlying principle is non-exploitation of yourself or others. The precepts are the foundation of all Buddhist training. With an industrialized ethical base, much of the psychological conflict and tension that we experience is solved, permitting commitment and more mindful option. Free option and intention is necessary. It is “I undertake” not ‘Thou Shalt”. Choice, not command.

The Five Precepts in favorable terms

I carry out the training precept to:

1. Show Loving-kindness;
2. Be open hearted and generous;
3. Practice stillness, simpleness and contentment;
4. Talk with fact, clarity and peace;
5. Cope with mindfulness.

The 10 Paramita

Paramita indicates gone to the other shore, it is the highest development of each of these qualities.

1. Offering or Generosity; *
2. Virtue, Ethics, Morality; *
3. Renunciation, letting go, not understanding;
4. Panna or Prajna “Knowledge” insight into the nature of truth; *
5. Energy, vigour, vigor, diligence; *
6. Perseverance or forbearance; *
7. Truthfulness;
8. Resolution, decision, intention;
9. Compassion, love, friendliness;
10. Equanimity.

* In Mahayana Buddhism, 6 are emphasised, they are, numbers l., 2., 4., 5., 6., Samadhi (see Course) & 4.

The Four Sublime or Uplifted States

1. Metta– Friendliness, Loving-kindness;
2. Karuna– Empathy;
3. Mudita– Happiness, Gladness. Gratitude of great qualities in individuals;
4. Upekkha– Equanimity, the peaceful unshaken mind.

Complete advancement of these 4 states develops all of the 10 Paramita.

The Five Powers or Spiritual Faculties

1. Faith, Self-confidence;
2. Energy, Effort;
3. Mindfulness;
4. Samadhi;
5. Knowledge.

The Five Hindrances

1. Sense craving;
2. Ill-will;
3. Sloth and Torpor;
4, Uneasyness and Concern;
5. Toxic doubt and the ruthless inner critic.

The Four bases or Frames of Reference of Mindfulness

1. Mindfulness of the Body– breath, postures, parts;
2. Mindfulness of Sensations, Sensations– enjoyable, undesirable and neutral;
3. Mindfulness of States of Awareness;
4. Mindfulness of all Phenomena or Things of Awareness.

The 3 Signs of Presence or Universal Properties

1. Anicca– Impermanent;
2. Dukkha– Unacceptable, tension inducing;
3. Anatta– Poor or Not-self.

All compounded and conditioned things, all phenomena are impermanent. Because of this they generate Tension and Affliction and due to the fact that of this they are Not-self What we call “self” is a process not a ‘thing”.


Don’t Stop Here

More To Explore

Ajarn Patana

Promoting World Peace and Powerful Blessings

Receive Daily and Monthly Full Moon Candle Lighting And Prayers.

Please enter your name and birthdate in the form below, we will print it out and place for prayers. You may also send us your recent photo if you wish. You will also receive updates and teachings via email if you sign up.