The Dharma: The Teachings of the Buddha

The Buddha’s preachings and mentors pointed toward the true nature of deep space, what is understood within Buddhism as the Dharma. He offered his first preaching on the borders of the city of Varanasi at a deer park called Sarnath. This very first preaching supplies an introduction of suffering and the way out of suffering. It is called the “4 Noble Truths.” The Buddha is frequently described as a physician who at first recognizes a health problem and then advises a medication to cure the health problem. The “4 Noble Truths” follow this pattern:

1. Life involves suffering, duhkha. The “illness”that the Buddha detected as the human condition is duhkha, a term normally rendered in English as “suffering” or “unsatisfactoriness.” The Buddha mentioned 3 types of duhkha. Initially, there is the typical suffering of psychological and physical discomfort. Second, there is the suffering produced by modification, the basic truth that all things– including happy feelings and joyous states– are impermanent, as is life itself. Third, there is suffering produced by the failure to acknowledge that no “I” stands alone, however whatever and everyone, including what we call our “self,” is conditioned and synergistic.2.

Suffering is triggered by desire and grasping.The Buddha saw

that the impulse to wish for, desire, or grasp something one does not have is the primary cause of suffering. Due to the fact that of the impermanence and continuous adjustment of all that we call “truth,” the attempt to hold on to it is as doomed to disappointment as the effort to stake out a piece of a streaming river.3.

There is an escape of suffering.

This is the outstanding news of the Dharma. It is possible to put an end to ego-centered desire, to put an end to duhkha and therefore attain liberty from the continuous sense of “unsatisfactoriness.”

4. The method is the “Noble Eightfold Course.”

To establish this liberty one must practice routines of ethical conduct, believed, and meditation that make it possible for one to move along the course. These regimens consist of:

  • Right understanding. Truly understanding, for instance, that unwholesome acts and ideas have repercussions, as do wholesome acts and ideas.
  • Right intention. Recognizing that actions are formed by practices of anger and self-centeredness, or by habits of compassion, understanding, and love.
  • Right speech. Acknowledging the ethical implications of speech. Truthfulness.
  • Right action. Observing the 5 precepts at the structure of all morality: not killing, not taking, not participating in sexual wrongdoing, not lying, and not clouding the mind with intoxicants.
  • Right earnings. Earning money in manner ins which are consonant with the basic precepts.
  • Right effort. Cultivating by doing this of dealing with the attention, the perseverance, and the determination that it requires to cultivate a field.
  • Right mindfulness. Developing “presence of mind” through the moment-to-moment awareness of meditation practice, consisting of mindfulness of breathing, mindfulness of strolling, and mindfulness of bodily experiences.
  • Right concentration. Establishing the ability to bring the dispersed and sidetracked mind and heart to a center, a focus, and to see clearly through that focused mind and heart.

← Ending up being “The Buddha”: The Method of Meditation
→ The Sangha: The Buddhist Area

Image Credit:

A 2nd-3rd century statue of the “fasting Siddhartha” from the Swat Valley in existing day Pakistan, British Museum, (public domain)

saamiblog, “The wheel with eight spokes represents the Noble Eightfold Course in Buddhist art,” Kanark, India (2012 ), (CC BY 2.0)

Don’t Stop Here

More To Explore

Inn Koo and Nam Male Prai Thai Amulet By Ajarn Wala


Termthanaporn Wanida

Vocalist and actress from Bangkok, Thailand. She is understood by the label Gybzy. Termthanaporn has a Bachelor of Arts Political Science and studied English. She